Bronx Bloopers

As I turned on the Yankee game yesterday it was right as Brett Gardner was caught stealing. When I first saw the play, I thought nothing of it. Then as they showed the replay in slow motion, I saw Gardner wearing a form of protection I have never seen before. He had what appears to be a special glove(?) of sorts that was built to protect your hand as you slide head first into a base. From what I can tell, it isn’t made of your typical leather material, but rather a hard plastic like material to prevent you from jamming or breaking your fingers against anything during a slide.

In theory, I understand the idea of wearing this glove. I can see it being very helpful as this is a very common way that base-stealer‘s, such as Gardner, get hurt. But this is baseball, it’s not football, I find the amount of protection players wear today to be a bit too much for my liking. Between the shin pads, foot pads, elbow pads and padded gloves that some guys wear while up at-bat, enough is enough already. Baseball isn’t meant to be played in body armor, I hope this trend doesn’t continue in the progression to even more unnecessary protection being worn on a baseball field.

Brett Gardner wearing his new glove(?)

Brett Gardner wearing his new glove(?)

 

With warm weather, we tend to see players wearing less layers under their uniforms. Joba Chamberlain on the other hand, took this opportunity to shed some extra hair he was lugging around. I for one have never been a fan of the Yankees clean-shaven rule, I find it pointless in this type of profession. I realize they allow mustaches, some Yankees were able to pull it off, Thurman Munson, Reggie Jackson and Goose Goosage to name a few, but this was just an awful look for him. Goodbye to Joba’s mustache, you will NOT be missed.

Joba's Mustache

Joba and his short-lived mustache

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

