Joba being Joba

All smiles from Rivera and Joba

All smiles from Rivera and Joba

Joba Chamberlain has once again embarrassed himself. His latest mistake? Confronting the immortal Mariano Rivera in front of reporters.

Before Saturday’s game, Rivera was conducting an interview with reporters in the dug out when an “incident” of sorts broke out. Chamberlain, was speaking loudly on the other end of the dug out while talking to some family who were sitting in the stands. Rivera  then called over and said “Joba, Suave” (which I’m told means quiet in Spanish) along with a hand gesture to keep it down. When the interview was over Chamberlain confronted Rivera in front of the media and remarked “Don’t ever shush me again”, at first he thought he was joking and laughed at his comment before Chamberlain reiterated “I’m serious, don’t ever shush me”

Look, I’m sure things like this happen all the time, after all it is impossible to think every single person is going to get along with one another every day for an entire season. This has already become a bigger story than it ever needed to be. The one thing I take away from this is that Joba just doesn’t get it. There is still a bit of immaturity in him that he would do this in front of the media and confront of all people, Mariano Rivera.

The soft-spoken Rivera said all the right things to the media today, ensuring the two made amends.

“He’s a good kid, man. He’s a good kid” said Rivera, “Sometimes we all say things that we don’t mean to say. It’s the way it is, and I keep it like that. That doesn’t make me angry because something like that happened. I’m the oldest here. I have to be the brother that has to keep the cool. It’s good. We’re all good. It’s nothing. We’ll move on.”

Chamberlain, on the other hand, well this is what he had to say the next day:

“I wouldn’t change it, I wouldn’t change anything I do in life” 

In my opinion, that’s all you need to know about Joba. On one hand, you have a class act in Mariano Rivera who took the high road and even praised Chamberlain, while Joba just continued to be Joba.

Leave a Reply

